Flag Etiquette

When to Display your Flag

The flag should be displayed, from sunrise to sunset,
on all days when the weather permits, especially on:

New Year's Day
Inauguration Day
Martin Luther King's Birthday
Lincoln's Birthday
Easter Sunday
Mother's Day
Armed Forces Day
Memorial Day
(half-staff until noon)
Flag Day, June 14th
Independence Day, July 4th
Labor Day
Constitution Day
Columbus Day, 
Navy Day
Veterans Day, November 11th
Thanksgiving Day
Christmas Day
Election Days (various)

Federally observed dates of the above holidays which may be different from the actual dates.

Such days as may be proclaimed by the President of the United States.
State and Local Holidays.


Have you ever noticed on TV or at military funerals
that the honor guard pays meticulous attention
to correctly folding the American flag 13 times?
Each fold of the U.S. flag has an important meaning.
We have verified its accuracy at the U.S. Air Force Academy.

   1. The first fold of our flag is a symbol of life.
2. The second fold is a symbol of our belief in eternal life.
3. The third fold is made in honor and remembrance of the veterans departing our ranks who gave a portion of their lives for the defense of our country to attain peace
throughout the world.
4. The fourth fold represents our weaker nature, for as American citizens trusting in God, it is to Him we turn in times of peace as well as in time of war
for His divine guidance. 
5. The fifth fold is a tribute to our country,
for in the words of Stephen Decatur, "Our Country,
in dealing with other countries,
may she always be right; but it is still our country,
right or wrong."
6. The sixth fold is for where our hearts lie.
It is with our heart that we pledge allegiance to the flag of the United States of America,
and to the Republic for which it stands,
one Nation under God,
indivisible, with Liberty and Justice for all.
7. The seventh fold is a tribute to our Armed Forces,
for it is through the Armed Forces that we protect our country and our flag against all her enemies,
whether they are found within or without
the boundaries of our republic.
8. The eighth fold is a tribute to the one who entered into the valley of the shadow of death,
that we might see the light of day,
and to honor mother,
for whom it flies on Mother's Day.
9. The ninth fold is a tribute to womanhood;
for it has been through their faith,
their love, loyalty and devotion
that the character of the men and women
who have made this country great has been molded.
10. The tenth fold is a tribute to the father,
for he, too, has given his sons and daughters
for the defense of our country
since they were first born.
11. The eleventh fold, in the eyes of a Hebrew citizen represents the lower portion
of the seal of King David and King Solomon,
and glorifies in their eyes,
the God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob.
12. The twelfth fold, in the eyes of a Christian citizen, represents an emblem of eternity
and glorifies, in their eyes,
God the Father, the Son, and Holy Spirit.
13. When the flag is completely folded, the stars
are uppermost reminding us
of our nation's motto,
"In God We Trust".

After the flag is completely folded and tucked in,
it takes on the appearance of a cocked hat,
ever reminding us of the soldiers
who served under General George Washington,
and the sailors and marines
who served under Captain John Paul Jones.

Those who were followed by their comrades
and shipmates in the Armed Forces of the United States, preserving for us the rights,
privileges, and freedoms we enjoy today.